(Click to view the entire score)
Michael Kaulkin Cycle of Friends Full Score

Thumb Through the Score!

Catalogue #:SWM-002
Descriptive Tags
Composer Cycle of Friends
...exceptionally beautiful on many counts.

— Chestnut Hill Local, Philadelphia

Michael Kaulkin

Cycle of Friends

for soprano solo, chorus and chamber orchestra

Endorsed by Project Encore

How to Order

If you’re interested in acquiring performance materials (full score, parts, vocal scores) for this piece, please write to [email protected].

Completed and premiered in 1996, Cycle of Friends is  a lush, emotional journey through five texts taken from such diverse sources as Tang Dynasty poetry of China, Sappho and Emily Dickinson, each dealing in its own way with the universal theme of friendship.

Cycle of Friends was commissioned and premiered by the Music Group of Philadelphia, Seán Deibler conductor, in Philadelphia in May of 1996.

Instrumentation: Soprano solo; SSAATTBB Chorus; Chamber Orchestra (1,1,1,1 1 hn, 1 tpt, hp, perc, strings)

Praise for Cycle of Friends

“…an all-too-rare combination of beautiful texts and refreshing, invigorating music.”

—Johannes Somary, Conductor

“…exceptionally beautiful on many counts.”

—Michael Caruso, Chestnut Hill Local


—Wes Kenney, Conductor

“…subtle and fragrant – beautifully scored for both orchestra and chorus.”

—John Corigliano, Composer

“…some of the most luminous writing for soprano and orchestra since Samuel Barber’s Knoxville: Summer of 1915.”

—Mark Adamo, Composer

“…wonderful musical textures and colors…”

—Morris J. Beachy, Conductor