(Click to view the entire score)
Catalogue #:ACO-018
Duration:approx. 7' 30''
Composer Fantasia
Alessandro Cesaro


for piano

This Fantasia hasn’t the character of a mere improvisation: although the notation without meter gives the idea of a long Recitative, the piece is divided into sections and it could be compared to a Sonata form. The two main elements of the Exposition are given one to the left hand and the other one to the right hand. The development part is predominant: here the previous thematic material is processed and differently recombined. A real Recapitulation is lacking, the music goes directly to the Coda which summarizes various moments of the piece and opens new possibilities.