(Click to view the entire score)
JMK-002 Misereatur-for-String-Orchestra

Thumb Through the Score!

Catalogue #:JMK-002
Duration:approx 5' 45"
Composer Misereatur
Mikhail Johnson


for String Orchestra (score and parts)

Version created from the original title for unaccompanied mixed chorus, this work is an instrumental realization of the choral work. Written a month after the choral version, is was my way of closing the chapters of the old year (2013) and turning a new leaf; starting afresh for the new year (2014). The work was inspired by a scene of from HBO’s television series The Tudors in which the pope began to pronounce a blessing on his onlookers with the following Latin text:

Misereatur vestris Omnipotens Deus, et dimissis peccatis vestris omnibus, perducat vos Jesus Christus ad vitam aeternam. Amen.

Upon further research of the origin and possible authenticity, I discovered that the text came from a collection of Apostolic blessings called “Ubis et Orbis” that is indeed used by the pope before he address the people in his annual appearance on the balcony of Vatican city.

The text is translated as follows:

May the Omnipotent God have mercy on you, and forgive you of all your sins, and may through Jesus Christ lead you to life eternal. Amen.

The sombre and solemn nature of the work reflected the yearning of my heart in retrospect to the year of old and the prospect of the new year.

The work was premiered at the “Chamber Music in the Mountains” concert held at the St. Mark’s Anglican Church in St. Andrew, Jamaica on Feburary 23, 2014, by a handpicked String Chamber Orchestra under the direction of Steven Woodham.

This work also became one of the winning pieces for the 2016 Cleveland Chamber Symphony Young and Emerging Composers Composition Competition. This resulted in its US premiere by the Cleveland Chamber Symphony under the direction of Maestro Steven Smith in their 2016 NEOSonicFest Young and Emerging Composers Concert series.

Price includes full score and parts. (Strings: 4,4,3,2,2) For print orders, to order additional string parts @ $3.00/ea, please contact [email protected].)

Also available in the original version for unaccompanied chorus [JMK-003].