Z Dance (Download License)

Piano Trio

Z Dance is a multi-textured movement for piano trio set in a lively, post-modern
contrapuntal style. Rhythmic impulse is the focus of this piece, in which the violin, cello
and piano each take turns in the foreground, middle ground and background.

Composed in 2010 as ballet music, Z Dance is the companion piece to ABC Dance and
Hope Dance, which have been performed at the University of Oklahoma and the Fresno
New Music Festival. The three pieces may be played together as a suite in the order ABC
Dance, Hope Dance, and Z Dance.

SKU: JHR-183 Categories: , , Tags: , ,


Print orders are printed on demand and shipped by our printing partner, and can be expected to be processed with a few days of the order. Please do not hesitate to contact [email protected] to follow up.


Explore More Music…

Filters Sort results
Reset Apply
for two pianos
Overture/Rondo is a transcription and rearrangement of the third and final movement of my Concerto for Piano and Small Orchestra. The original soloist’s role has now been re-distributed, alternating between the two pianists, and other such adjustments have been made to more equitably divide the music. In the Concerto, there is a considerably longer cadenza […]
More info & view score »
for cello and piano
Green Fire Variations, for cello and piano, is music about the energy within wild things.  The title uses words borrowed from writer and conservationist Aldo Leopold: We reached the old wolf in time to watch a fierce green fire dying in her eyes. I realized then, and have known ever since, that there was something […]
More info & view score »
for Piano and Small Orchestra
Cast in the traditional three movements — fast, slow, fast — influence and indebtedness to Bartók is noticeable in the two outer movements. In the meditative slow movement, there are allusions both to Beethoven’s 3rd concerto, with its dialogue-like alternation between soloist and orchestra, and in the main body of the movement, a nod to […]
More info & view score »
for mixed septet
Double Bass
Chiaroscuro was composed in 1991 for the CONVERGENCE Ensemble, a group of dancers and musicians, who gave the first performance at The Painted Bride Gallery in Philadelphia. In the concept of the dance, lighting played a major role, sometimes silhouetting dancers posed like sculptures against a light background, sometimes presenting them brightly against the dark, […]
More info & view score »
for two pianos & percussion
The two roughly equal-length movements relate to each other by contrast– the first, rather somber; the second more jubilant. Both movements are through-composed, without apparent repetition or recapitulation. However, symmetries and parallels exist between the two. Canons begin movement one, and conclude movement two. Both begin with introductions, followed by a main section which builds […]
More info & view score »
Shopping Cart