Catalogue #:GTT-022
Duration:2' 3"
Composer Beyond Grief (Download License)
Gordon Thornett

Beyond Grief (Download License)

for Mixed Choir (SATB) with Soprano Soloist

This setting is ideally suited for a good chamber choir with a high soprano soloist. Julie Myers’ beautiful poem suggests to the composer a journey from darkness to light, from despair to hope, and this is reflected in the music, which should be performed simply, but with expressiveness and conviction.

Beyond grief, beyond anger,
beyond feeling,
there is a place of quietness.
I choose to enter this oblivion rather than falling into despair.
There are no words here.
My soul can breathe.
My mind finds rest.
And some-day, some-time,
beyond the hurt,
beyond the lost dreams,
beyond the nothingness,
I will step out and sing again, sing again,
I will step out and sing again.


Need to Place Your Order "Offline" With a Purchase Order or Otherwise?

Offline Ordering

If you can't place an order here using a credit card, just write to [email protected] and let us know what you need — which title(s) and quantity — and your shipping address. We'll provide an invoice that can be paid by check. Unfortunately, because orders are printed on demand, payment is required before your order can be fulfilled.