(Click to view the entire score)
DPT-001 David Post Cogitations for Viola
Catalogue #:DPT-001
Duration:c. 7-8'
Composer Cogitations
David Post


for viola alone

This set of short pieces was written for my good friend and collaborator, Boston Symphony Orchestra violist Mark Ludwig.

In them, I have tried to capture, in purely musical terms, some of the characteristics of the stream of thought; its bends, meanderings, twists and unexpected concatenations.
Since all thought is necessarily an individual matter, I have given broad latitude and freedom to the performer in terms of tempo, phrasing and dynamics.

Preferably, these pieces should be played together as a set, but may, at the discretion of the performer, be played singly as an encore or recital piece.