Home > Shop

Composers > Clark Suprynowicz

Clark Suprynowicz

Clark Suprynowicz is a San Francisco Bay Area composer. Following residencies in recent years with the Berkeley Symphony and the Berkeley Opera, Clark had three large works premiered: The opera Caliban Dreams (with writer Amanda Moody, featuring tenor John Duykers) in a Berkeley Opera production; Tectonic, a commission from the Mill Valley Philharmonic, featuring readings by poet Jane Hirshfield, and Machine, a new opera with writer / director Mark Streshinsky, which premiered at the Crucible in Oakland. In 2012, Clark's string quartet Elegance and Superstition was part of the Hell Hot Festival in Hong Kong in a program with works by the Hear Here Composers Collective and esteemed composer Tan Dun. Joshua Kosman has said of Clark Suprynowicz, in a San Francisco Chronicle review: "When Suprynowicz goes all out with lyrical, melodic writing, the effect is ravishing." Mr. Suprynowicz spent many years in the trenches as a jazz musician before decamping to compose full-time. He has worked as a bassist with John Zorn, Bill Frisell, Art Lande, Max Roach, and Tom Waits.

Music for other instruments by Clark Suprynowicz

Filters Sort results
Reset Apply
for string quartet
String Quartet
Elegance and Superstition is a piece that was born out of a musical gesture and a guiding principle. The gesture consists of two notes tossed upward, like balls into the air. There is a pause, and they are tossed again, this time a bit higher. The guiding principle is derived from something that composer Eve […]
More info & view score »
Shopping Cart